Self Portrait

by jonnywhitlam

I don’t look too happy here, eh? I bought an Elliott Erwitt book today, and got inspired to go street-photoing around Neukölln. Street photography is one of those situations where you really need to speak German (or Turkish for that matter) around here, so armed with only my wide-angle 28mm lens it wasn’t too successful. I bought a new 50mm on the way home (mine broke the other day).

The man that suggested the book to me was on my tour – a really enthusiastic Swedish photographer and retired teacher from Gothenburg. Really nice bloke. Good to know there are still nice people in the world.

This is as basic as self portraits get, really, I just took the photo at arm’s length and added a double-exposure style picture of a circuit box with torn posters all over it over the top of my face.

This is my concentrating face.

