49 Ways To See Berlin

by jonnywhitlam

I arrived for the first time in Berlin just over two years ago. The city was plainly not what I expected. I’d never heard that it was so rough around the edges, that it was this mad artsy-fartsy place. I come from a small village with lovely middle-class sensibilities. It had honestly never occurred to me that something a bit run down could actually still look and feel nice. I never imagined that it would feel like home, but it does.

Here’s 49 of Berlin’s doorways chosen at random as seen through my phone from my bike (who said this was a classy operation?). The photos were taken in Friedrichshain, Kreuzberg, Mitte, Neukölln, Prenzlauer Berg and Wedding. The vast majority are entrances to Mietkaserne (buildings full of flats to rent), but there’s the occasional picture of other doorways, too.

This makes for my longest post so far. Click through to see them all.