With the Chinese

by jonnywhitlam

One of the things that attracted me to Toronto is that depending on how one looks at the statistics the city is one of (if not the) most diverse cities in the world.

You certainly don’t have to look too hard to find the differences either. The city is split into different towns, centres and districts (little Italy, for example). At first I found this fairly alarming, if you look at this pessimistically it encourages segregation and therefore somewhere down the line I’d argue a fractured and divided society. I mentioned this to a shop owner, referencing the division between the Germans and the Turks back in Berlin, which is a serious problem in my opinion. She told me not to look at this way, though. She said that it should be seen as a celebration of all these cultures. The diversity is here, people get along, so celebrate it.

