“Raging Masculinity”

by jonnywhitlam

Raging Masculinity

Because of my job I’m constantly meeting people from all over the world, despite coming from all sorts of different places and having different outlooks on life, the majority of these people (whilst nice) don’t always leave a lasting impression.

I was giving a tour about Berlin as a divided city, about life under communism in East Germany when one guy came up to me and said:

“I have a stupid question.”

Always a good start;

“Where can I stick up a picture of my face?”

I told him that graffiti and street art are everywhere in Berlin, especially stickers. I continued to ask him why he wanted to do it, and that’s when he showed me the stickers. He said “It’s called ‘raging masculinity. I got very drunk last halloween, I ended up looking like this, my friend took a picture and its become very popular amongst my friends. One of them has a canvas print of it on his wall at home”.

He continues to tell me that since he was travelling across Europe he wanted to get this ridiculous picture in as many places as possible. I thought it was pretty funny, so I took a couple off him and here we are, ‘Raging Masculinity’ in U-Bahnhof Hermannplatz.

