Outdoor Cinema Show

by jonnywhitlam

Outdoor Cinema Show

Here’s one of my favourite photos I’ve taken since being in Berlin. Unfortunately owing to its geography it didn’t make it in to my ongoing Social Spaces Exhibition. This place is just south of Görlitzer Park, in Alt-Treptow. As a rough estimate I think this place, which is now occupied by a small ‘alternative living’ community is in the former ‘Death Strip’, part of the Berlin Wall.

It’s a great part of town to visit, especially if you get some sun. Not only that but it shows one of these great sides of Berlin, that in the middle of a major European capital there is still enough land, enough space and enough freedoms to build this bizarre, tiny outdoor cinema. There are outdoor cinemas all over Berlin, but I like the idea that someone still has a ‘private’ one… just for fun.

