Having Lunch

by jonnywhitlam

Having Lunch

Another update from Copenhagen, back to Berlin full time next week.

I’ve done candid photography a few times. I’ve always been pleased with the results but it’s hardly my greatest skill. I thought I’d go and try it out at Nyhavn here in Copenhagen when the sun was shining. It’s definitely a tourist spot, but it’s a bit weird in that the tourists fill up the bars, paying €7 for a 500ml beer, while the Danes grab their €2 beer from the shop and sit on the side of the harbour with the better view and the cheaper beer. I went down to try and capture this and to be honest it was a bit more difficult than I’d intended. Every single person I could find was eating! Now, the Danes are certainly beautiful people, but when you capture that 1/125th of a second when someone’s got their gob wide open chucking some fuel inside, well, even the best looking people in the world come out looking worse for wear. I persevered though and hopefully with this photo I captured some of the relaxed atmosphere of this especially chilled-out capital.

