Climbing the Stairs

by jonnywhitlam

Staircase in the former Nazi barracks, Krampnitz.

Ok, definitely sounding like a broken record with this one. I’ve done posts and features about this place here, here and here already, so discover the history of this place somewhere else. This post is just about the photo.

This photograph has become a personal favourite of mine for a few reasons. Number one being that it’s not a particularly great photograph to me, it doesn’t give a sense of the space in this stairwell, the feel, the cold, the smell. Despite this, it’s my second most viewed picture on Flickr. Secondly when people looked at this photo during the opening at my Social Spaces exhibition nobody could really make sense of it. The way the stairs wind up from the left to the right of the photo is confusing, as is the fact that the ceiling appears to be falling to pieces. I did take this photo at a slightly crooked angle in order to get the railings on the left to line up [somewhat] parallel to the edge of the picture. That’s all. Despite the fact to me this picture is somewhat unremarkable there’s been a lot of interest in it. Art is subjective, beauty is in the eye of the beholder, etcetera.

Anyway, hope you enjoy the picture, my daily posts about the exhibition will be coming to an end in the next couple of days. I’ll try to think of another project to fill the space. Thanks for reading.

If you’re in Berlin and would like to visit the exhibition it is on at Speakeasy Sprachzeug language school, 116 Boxhagener Str. Berlin (Nearest U-Bahn is Frankfurter Tor.) from June 24 until August 28. If you would like to buy a print of this or any other photo please feel free to send me an email (see contact).

 

