DDR

by jonnywhitlam

Plattenbau in Berlin's Mitte.

Some of you may have seen this photo before in my ‘Signs of the East‘ post I did a few weeks ago. A few pictures from that post ended up in my exhibition. This building sits on Alexanderstraße, right near Alexanderplatz. Alexanderplatz is a pretty busy place by Berlin standards, with people coming from all over the world to gawp at the TV Tower (myself included). Back when the TV tower was new though, at the height of the Cold War, this was the centre of East Berlin, and what do we have? Not a huge shopping centre or a statue of a King or a God, but the good old communist style plattenbau. I find it fascinating how the architecture and design of a city can tell you so much about national and world politics, and this picture, for me, is really just a small glimpse into that.

If you would like to visit the exhibition it is on at Speakeasy Sprachzeug language school, 116 Boxhagener Str. Berlin (Nearest U-Bahn is Frankfurter Tor.) from June 24 until August 28. If you would like to buy a print of this or any other photo please feel free to send me an email (see contact).

 

