Walking Home Through Kreuzberg

by jonnywhitlam

Catching the sundown in Kreuzberg

Kind of a theme for my work in Berlin, I wasn’t totally in as sober a state as I could have been when I took this photo. I guess in a weird way it’s a benefit of having your camera on you at all times. I’d just met up with some friends after work, some tourists joined in and we had a few beers in the park. Shortly after this the rain came so we went back to a guy’s apartment near Görlitzer park and had an impromptu party. As I had to work again the next day I left early after the rain stopped and walked home.

It’s only a 15 minute walk, but I don’t normally have my camera with me when I think it’ll rain. Add the rain to the great light and this time and it really made the cobbles shine in a great way. I had to wait patiently for the guy to cross the road just as the van went past, and I was really pleased with the outcome.

If you would like to visit the exhibition it is on at Speakeasy Sprachzeug language school, 116 Boxhagener Str. Berlin (Nearest U-Bahn is Frankfurter Tor.) from June 24 until August 28. If you would like to buy a print of this or any other photo please feel free to send me an email (see contact).

