U-Bahn

by jonnywhitlam

Wedding U-Bahn Station

Catching the U-Bahn is part of daily life for me in Berlin. The network is incredibly comprehensive, it’s fast, it’s on time and unlike the bus you can drink a beer while you’re on your way.

Since my exhibition started people have told me they love the sense of movement in this photo. This is great, but the the train was actually still in this scene, in fact the doors were opening just before hopping on. Instead of using a long exposure to show movement I ‘faked it’ using my Lensbaby.

However this photo is more indicative of my life in Berlin than for the simple fact that I have to jump on yellow trains a lot whilst sometimes drinking a beer. I find life in Berlin very fast, there’s always something to do, somewhere to be, someone to meet, an old friend to catch up with, a once in a lifetime opportunity, a different part of town to explore or a different part of the city’s rich history to learn about. Add this to the notion that Berlin is currently regarded as the party capital of Europe right now and this doesn’t leave a lot of time for sleep. When I took this photo I’d been out at Stattbad the night before. This was in the district of Wedding, a place I really haven’t explored that much at all. So after 4 hours of sleep I made it to work just on time, only to find out there weren’t enough people for my tour to run, so I not only had a bonus day off, but a cracking hangover to explore with.

I decided to make it back up to Wedding by taking the U6 line with a good friend of mine, and despite taking the U-Bahn an average of about 6 times per day, I’d never got on or off at this particular station before. The stations in Berlin aren’t really as deep under the ground as places I’ve been before like London or Copenhagen, so I found the way the morning sunlight was shining down in to the station really cool. I quickly pulled out my camera and swore to myself as I realised I had the Lensbaby on (it can be a bit of a handful for quicker shots) but managed to snap this in my inebriated state.

I was really pleased with the end result, such that this actually became the lead photo of the Social Spaces exhibition. If you’re in Berlin and would like to visit the exhibition it is on at Speakeasy Sprachzeug language school, 116 Boxhagener Str. Berlin (Nearest U-Bahn is Frankfurter Tor.) from June 24 until August 28. If you would like to buy a print of this or any other photo please feel free to send me an email (see contact).

